Which is, by the way, called OGX 427.

Today went really well.  Robin, the clinical trial nurse who will be with me the whole journey, was so great and gave me a big hug when we got there.  Throughout everything we joked and laughed and talked about family etc.  She even laughed when her pager went off and Mendelt said ‘that’s Batman’.  I laughed because I thought–funny, a pager goes and it’s Batman.  And a few minutes later I really laughed because her name is Robin and she was getting a page from Batman.  In my defence, I was all hopped on drugs at this point.  🙂

To get things started I had to have an ECG (measuring the rythms of my heart) done every 10 minutes for an hour (one of the readings said I had a pacemaker!) and then they gave me the new drug over a 2 hour period, did one more ECG and then I was good to go.  I’ll see everybody again on Thursday.  So far no side effects.  If I were to get them, they would happen with in the next 24 hours.  On Thursday, I also get to have my abdomen de-liquified.  Because my liver is diseased, it can’t process all of the proteins it is supposed to and so my capillaries are leaking fluid into my abdomen and that is why I look 4 months pregnant and get winded after going up a flight of stairs all my organs are getting squished and there is pressure on my diaphragm and my lungs).  I explained that to my sister the other day and she said–oh, I can totally understand that now!  I got winded all the time when I was pregnant!   So, I get all the side effects of being pregnant, but no baby.  It sounds sad, but I’m okay with that.  I don’t believe that God is finished with us yet!

I’m feeling much better today than I did yesterday.  Partly because I’m doing something again to fight this disease and I feel a lot better on this new drug than I did on chemo!  Just hearing the word chemo now conjures up all these images…

Hope you all had a Ruby Tuesday. (The Stones)

MaV

