Today I received a letter in the mail.  It was from a lovely woman named Carolyn.  I don’t know her very well, but well enough for her to send me a letter.  I’d like to quote from the letter.

The letter said,

Mendelt, I do not know what you are going through.  However, your experience makes me so much more aware of what I have…I hug my kids a little longer before they go to bed, or on the bus, I do not take for granted having a loving husband to help me raise our two boys, and am so much more aware of the little things in life that I usually take for granted.

I pray those never fade or become dull or routine.”

Marisa would have been proud to read these words.  This is what she wanted.  She wrote it in her posts.  She told her friends.  This is one of the things she hoped people would learn from this.

And Marisa did not take things for granted.  She wasn’t one to let things fade or become routine.  It has only been a week since we buried her, but it seems in many ways longer.

I miss her a great deal.

And thank you Carolyn for those words.  It made me proud for Marisa.

Peace,

MdH

