My good and faithful friends Justin and Rachel sent this to me as a comment but I thought it was more fitting as a post because it is so fitting and beautiful.  I’ve asked their permission.   Thanks JC/RC.

 

Three people were each given different amounts of suffering. For each it was difficult.

The first was given one cup of suffering, and, because he thought his Master was a hard man, he tried to bury it.

Another was given two cups of suffering, but he knew he had been entrusted with it. So he made two cups of blessings with his.

Another and his whole family was given five cups of suffering. They also knew they were entrusted with it, and so they went to work, carrying the suffering the best way they knew how. They threw a number of parties. At the last party, everyone there was generous with what they had been given too. And by the end of the party, the five cups had turned into 30,000 dollars and honour in one of their names. The Master who had entrusted the five cups to the family turned to them all and said, “Well done, good and faithful servants. You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness.”

And also,

“Because she loves me,” says the LORD,
“I will rescue her;
I will protect her, for she
acknowledges my name.
“She will call upon me, and I will
answer her;
I will be with her in trouble,
I will deliver her and honour her.
With long life will I satisfy her
and show her my salvation.”
Psalm 91:14-16 (Thanks Mr. Vanderveen)

