It is hard to think that we made it through a calendar year without Marisa.

I would say that our children are doing relatively well.  They play and love and fight and listen and sing like regular kids.  If you are in their inner circle, you can quickly see signs of grief but overall I am pleased with where they are.  If you asked me last year how I would have wanted them to be, how they are now would be the answer.

Zion is a beautiful, good, strong, athletic boy.  I am proud of him.  He has a responsibility that few 6 years old have.  And he is doing an exceptional job.  He adores his sisters.  No one else gets to tease them.  He will stick up for them without a second thought.  I like that. 

Jacoba is a beautiful, good, strong, artistic girl.  She speaks her mind.  I like that.  I have often said that I would much rather have spice than vanilla.  2008 is the year that I believe Jacoba went from not understanding that Marisa died to understanding that Marisa died.  That is a crazy realization.  Crazy.

Zekijah is a beautiful, wonderful, hilarious, busy girl.  She speaks her mind.  I like that.  She often reminds me of Marisa.  Especially the way she can walk into a room and raise the spirit of the room just with her presence.  Sometimes I look at her and wonder how she will come to know what happened.

The beginning of 2009 will see my return back to full time work.

I should clarify that…

The beginning of 2009 will se my return back to full time work outside the home.

Peace to you all in 2009.

MdH

